Categories
Uncategorized

Do you hear it?

“You care so much you feel as though you will bleed to death with the pain of it.” ~JK Rowling

Google Images

It holds you in its arms
Cradles you, caresses you.
Mistake it not for warmth,
for Grief is an ocean
Vast. Deep. Relentless.

Somebody, everybody and nobody
All have grief in common,
for grief spares none.
I wear it differently
It looks unrecognisable on you.

Grievance is for the dead,
was a lesson taught in school
oh but there is more to it
grief is for change, loss and being
is a lesson taught by life.

Tides and currents run wild
in its unfathomable waves
it comes to everyone
in its own time
and knocks you off your feet.

There is no running, no escaping.
When it hurts to even breathe
remember that it changes on a dime
one day, impossibly, it won’t hurt this bad
that’s how you survive.

I think I’m past it
alas it strikes again, starts again.
you can not control it,
let it in when it comes, feel it
let go of it, when you can

There are names playing on its lips,

My name. Your name.

Do you hear it?

Google Images

72 replies on “Do you hear it?”

Hi Ben, I think we all have our share of grief written in our destinies and there’s no running from that. I’m pleased that you thought so! No, that isn’t what I meant to write. I’ve corrected it, thank you for pointing that out. Have a lovely day. 🌹

Liked by 1 person

So much to unpack here. The idea that grief is as old as time, that we all feel the same emotion, that it comes in “waves” and at different times to us all, that we all deal with it in different ways, that it “is a lesson taught by life.” This is a neat poem. You really viewed this from a lot of different angles. I commend you for that!

Liked by 5 people

Hey Ben, oh yes, once I started thinking about grief a lot of thoughts surfaced. Reading your comment definitely made my day. I truly appreciate your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Have a brilliant day. 🌼

Like

“I wear it differently
It looks unrecognisable on you.”

“one day, impossibly, it won’t hurt this bad
that’s how you survive.”

Those are my favorite lines. I feel every emotion so vividly – the pain, the nostalgia, the sadness. But this is so beautiful nonetheless, and I feel that the ocean/waves metaphor ties in so perfectly. Amazingly written, Rishika! Wishing you peace and contentment 💙

Liked by 3 people

Hi Wardah, I always cherish reading your comments. There is no beauty in grief, I think, and yet somehow there’s beauty in the pain it brings. Your kind words made me smile.
Thank you for taking the time to read and leave your thoughts here.
I hope you’re doing well.
Have a great day. 🌹

Liked by 1 person

So true, Rishika – grief isn’t beautiful, but there’s something beautiful in the pain, of figuring our way through the tangles and back to the light. You’re welcome, and I hope you’re doing well too! ❤

Liked by 1 person

My Pleasure
OnlY iNspired
By What
i See
Only
Reflections
Of Souls
i Hear
PLeaSure
InDeed ALWaYS
Opportunity
To Color
HeART
SPiRiT
Evolving
SoUL MoRE
NoW🌺🎶🙌🙏

Thank

You my FRiEnD
inDeeD At LeasT
A Fred in FRiEnD

Hehe

😁 SMiLinG

For Real Now😊

Liked by 1 person

You are too young Rishika to have experienced such grief, and such deep words from one so young. Beautiful!

Pain is a given in this world of duality. Suffering is our own creation – it comes from the thoughts we bring to our pain.

Stay safe. Stay loved 😊🤗

Liked by 2 people

Hi Ashok Uncle, we all have our share of grief written in our destinies. When it comes is only a matter of chance. I love that thought. Very true. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Hope you have a wonderful day. 🌼

Liked by 1 person

Rishika, this one is far beyond words. Right from the start this hits all the right notes. Grief indeed is a powerful emotion that may completely destroy a being. We fight with grief in so many ways sometimes hidden from the entire world. This poem really shows how far you have come in your poetry skills and the way you would really go. May you achieve great heights Rishika. I can see your future and it’s bright as the brightest day. 😇

Liked by 1 person

Hey Harsh, oh that is so so good to hear. I’m happy I could capture the sentiments. Grief is a fundamental emotion that no one can run from. I really appreciate your kind words. Your comment made me smile. I’ll be looking forward to reading your book. Have a beautiful day. 🌹

Liked by 1 person

Hi HS, I guess it’s the emotion which made this poem intense. Oh that is such a huge compliment! I am very very pleased to hear that. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I appreciate your support. Have a great day. 🌼

Liked by 1 person

So personal and reflective, beautiful poet Rishika. Grief does come in waves I discovered after losing my dad. I thought I was doing fine, then I had a moment in the Valentine aisle last February. He passed on Valentine the year before. Sometimes the waves are unexpected.💔

Liked by 3 people

Hi Michele, grief I believe, is something that never truly goes away. It stays inside us, gnawing at us. We all think we’re doing fine until we’re not. They say it gets easier with time, I’m yet to reach that stage. Hopefully, it’ll come to us both, soon. The secret is to keep swimming! Have a blessed day. 🌹

Liked by 1 person

Risika, this lovely poem, with its ocean wave metaphor, so beautifully expresses how grief feels. ❤ When my husband died, I remember feeling "waves" of conflicting emotions. I sat in the two-hour memorial service of tributes from family and friends and had the realization that I would never again be the same person. A part of me was missing.

As the service came to its close, my father-in-law prayed the traditional Jewish prayer for the dead. I was filled with elation for the considerable accomplishments of my husband's brief life. His life was a triumph! In spite of his quadriplegia, he had accomplished so much for others and had shown so much love. I was filled with a soaring feeling of joy!

There were many "waves" after that, but 18 years later, the pain has greatly receded and left beautiful memories behind. 🙂

Enjoy your weekend, Rishika! ❤

Liked by 2 people

Hey Cheryl, there’s beauty in pain they say. Maybe that’s what makes the expression of grief a tragic beauty. I felt similar waves of emotion a few years ago. They say time heals, I’m yet to reach that point.

I highly appreciate you sharing your experience here. It takes great strength to even talk about it. I haven’t gathered it yet. There’s so many emotions attached with grief, it gets confusing at times.

I’m so proud of you for making it through the worst of it!

Have a beautiful day. 🌺

Liked by 1 person

Rishika as always, portrayed very well…😁😁
Grief, as a humankind we all feel the void of something when they left irrespective of people or like that..
It often generates those unmarked feeling and emotions of one which one somehow scared to show, right? Though we all passed through it sooner or later and that’s also sure..
Along with that Grief, memory of the person also relive, so it’s like we sad for the same moment which also creates magic for some time..
Have a great day..😄😄😊

Liked by 2 people

Hi Divyang, forgive the extremely late reply. True words. I love your reflection on grief and your thoughts about it. Very poignantly expressed. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I really appreciate your support. Have a happy day. 🌹

Like

So good to see you writing again Rishika and for your incredible depth in your poem describing grief and the metaphor of the ocean waves that come and come. If we could truly hold it this way or I should say when we do, it comes and goes and there is not as much power in in.
Hope you are well! ❤️❤️❤️ Cindy

Like

Leave a comment