Categories
Uncategorized

Forevermore

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”~Robert Frost

Image Source: Google Images

The “what ifs,” the “could have beens”
cloud my thoughts and actions.

Forevermore.

They’d come back, I was told
to haunt me.

Regrets.

I go back in time
I choose differently this time.

Another chance.

I live in the past
The present drifts away.

Another mistake.

Now I am thinking
about “what was but will never again be”

Torment.

To have something
only to lose it.

Tragic.

My heart’s greatest desire
Became ghosts in the shadows.

Irony.

what hurts more
“what ifs” or “what weres”

Another question.

The past is a deadly place to live in
I wish I could tell my younger self.

A warning.

Lessons I learn, consequences I face
Forward, I hope I move.

Forevermore.

Image source: Google Images

66 replies on “Forevermore”

Hey Radhika, ahh those last two lines were what I had in the beginning. That was the idea, the rest of it came later. I am so delighted you thought so! I love hearing your views on my writings. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Have a beautiful day. 🌼

Liked by 2 people

Very thoughtful post. “what hurts more “what ifs” or “what weres”. I guess they both can hurt equally so. But perhaps I’d prefer the what were cause then I had a chance to experience it in some way more than just a dream.

Liked by 3 people

Hi Benjamin, that question has been floating around for some time now. I completely agree with that. I’d choose to at least have the luck of experiencing it once. There’s pain on both ends of that question. Probably wise to choose the one that at least let’s us have our heart’s desire, even if momentarily. I am pleased that you had a good read. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! Have a blessed day. 🌺

Liked by 1 person

Exactly as you say. That’s how I feel. But sometimes the heartbreak it worth it. The moments are things that you can replace or get back. Best not to take them for granted. A good memory always get to stay a good memory. You have a great day!

Liked by 1 person

Hi Harsh, so happy that you thought of this as a good read. I tried this new style of writing, this time! Wasn’t sure it would come out well. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment! Hope you have a great day. 🌹

Liked by 2 people

Hey Reshmi, ahh what won’t we all do for a second chance! I realized while writing this, how important it is to just let go. Thank you for taking the time to read and leave this sweet comment here! I appreciate it. Have a great day. 🌹

Liked by 1 person

Hi Tamara, yes! We must let go of everything that is holding us back. Hard to do most of the times but still important. I am so happy that you thought so and enjoyed reading it. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! Hope you have a beautiful day. 🌺

Liked by 1 person

Hi Cindy, oh that is so kind of you. I do think that this is a life lesson. Let go and move on! I am so happy that you enjoyed reading this piece. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Have a beautiful day. 🌹

Liked by 1 person

Hi Jaya, this comment coming from you means the world to me! I am so so glad that you enjoyed reading this. Yes, I have never tried writing this way before. So this was an experiment with a new style! Glad that it came out well. Thank you so much for taking the time. I hope you have a great day. 🌼

Liked by 1 person

Hey Divyang, that is so kind of you! I am very pleased that you thought so. I tried a new writing format this time. I really appreciate your support and encouragement and am very glad to receive it. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I hope you have a beautiful day. 🌼

Like

Leave a comment